“The Transcendent Tide”. (For Caleb on his 18th birthday).

Experiential estuaries

flood my heart.

Muddied by emotion

I sink into the silken silt

and it closes around my feet

in the deceptive warmth

of an embrace.

The murky delta

spreads dark and distant

and inertia settles

unchallenged in my breast.

But I wait

for the universal tide

that rushes in

with my breath,

leaving clear pools

of  benevolence,

glowing gifts

of timeless treasures.

The world doesn’t let me

wander and ponder for long,

as I shove them

into deep pockets

and corners of hope.

And as I roll their smoothness

in my curving palm,

the common thread

ties it all together

for a moment.

It is then I feel

the ache of my wings

beneath the fleshy layers,

and I walk once again

with purpose…..

4 Comments

Filed under poetry

4 responses to ““The Transcendent Tide”. (For Caleb on his 18th birthday).

  1. maiseylou

    This is brilliant and beautiful.

  2. ‘The ache of my wings’ seems very expressive to me. You seem to capture a kind of primordial sense of being here, it’s very appealing to me. I hope Caleb liked it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

