“Journey of the Heart”

I scale this mountain of hope,

just a pile of collected dreams,

of unfounded expectation.

I choose with purpose

this never-ending climb,

and my self-deception propels me

toward imagined release

of great pinnacles of joy,

and the child-like anticipation

keeps me sane for the while.

Though I half expect to avalanche

down the other side of lofty hopes,

there is always that illusive miracle

that I may touch the stars,

plant my flag in victory,

on heavenly plateaus of contentment.

So I dwell on perfect outcomes,

believe all fateful predictions,

fool all my common sense,

always half knowing that real peace

is only a journey of the heart

across past and reaching plains….

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

