“To Forget…” (Cumberland River)

I want to feel

the simple touch of nature;

the mist from the foam,

the warmth of a fire,

even the smoke in my eyes;

just more than this subterranean ache.

Iwant to listen

to the majestic drum of the waves through the night,

instead of all my unsaid words

repeating behind my eyes,

constantly changing

as my pain evolves;

never a triumph over my rage.

I want to see uncommon things

that engage my senses

beyond incessant thoughts of you;

like the seamless join of sky and ocean,

birdsong in a quiet place;

to remind me of things

greater than myself;

to forget you….

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

