“Kites”

You were tired of carrying

your weight of obligations;

become a stranger in your own life,

sadly estranged from your heart.

As for me,

I have grown so weary

from the weight of nothing;

the unbearable heaviness

of my own heart.

You want to fly unburdened,

tied to nothing

like a runaway kite,

with your string of bold colors.

Yet I crave

to be gently reeled in,

gliding down confident and free,

anchored to your heart

and wound around your strong hand.

You made my simple love

a complicated demand;

turned my gentle declaration

into a blind desperation

to your unwilling heart….

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

