“Inevitable”

You are the forest…

…how I love the forest;

its depth,

its hidden, dark and forgotten places.

I am the seasons

that try to touch you;

the weather that beats against you.

I am the falling leaves,

making a bed for myself,

huddled in your colors.

I am the drifts of snow

that pile at your feet,

and melt away without you knowing.

I am the rain

that runs off your skin

and washes your feet.

I am the wind

that ruffles your stillness;

makes you want to tear up

your rooted anchor and run.

I am the sun

that penetrates your canopy

and seeks out your hidden beauty,

sparks off your neglected lustre.

And like the seasons

I will come again and again…

…I am inevitable.

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

