Autumn’s Promise

I walk in the half  light

of an early morning;

the full opalescent moon

still brightest in the sky,

drawing my blood

like a silent surging tide.

And my heart beats alternately

“dare to hope/no don’t you dare.”

The sun is but a copper smudge

on the urban horizon,

but the autumn trees still glow

in the absence of the sun.

And so do I,

choose to hope,

amidst the half truths and uncertainties.

The moon finally disappears

behind the mauve clouds of morning,

and the birdsong is suddenly

and briefly louder,

ahead of the encroaching sounds

of a new day,

and I reach to pick the brightest leaf,

to remind me of my promise.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

