Words Unsaid

I will say all you can’t;
I will say all you won’t;
Those thoughts you add
to the wall of words
you are building in your head,
holding back
a river of emotion.
I see it lapping
behind you eyes,
hear it crashing
against your silver tongue.
You let it out
one drop at a time,
and I savour its bitter-sweetness
on my tongue,
eagerly skimmed from your lips.
My words clammer against it;
I pile my offerings
at your gate;
a mountain of unopened gifts,
and we both ignore
my bleeding hands.
But your words
are so carefully laid
there is no place to hold,
no assurances
on which to rest,
and I am left to imagine
how far we could ride
on a river of honesty…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

